Tuesday, June 13, 2006

The Summer King

The Summer king follows the theme of The Mysteries - using Celtic myths & folk beliefs in a modern story. This time, it's the story of the Summer King and his floating island.
Laurel, a young Canadian, is returning to Ireland for the first time since her twin's death there the year before. Still suffering the loss of her sister, Laurel is determined to investigate the mysterious entries in her sister's journal in the days before she mysteriously fell to her death while hiking. Laurel does not believe in fairy, but Honor did, and Honor's journal entries hint at something mysterious and otherworldly on the ledge where she died.
It isn't long before Laurel meets the Roly-Poly Man, who may have been present when Honor died. His story seems far fetched, but his need for Laurel's help seems real - she must complete the quest Honor began and save the world of Fairy if she wishes to free her sister from her magical sleep. Helped by her angry ex-boyfriend, several mythical creatures and a pirate from Ireland's past, Laurel races against time to find the Summer King and free him before Faerie and the mortal world come to an end.
The second in Melling's Chronicles of Faerie, The Summer King is fast paced fantasy/mystery/romance full of wonderful characters and myths. While there are guest appearances from a few characters from The Hunter's Moon (first in the series), the books are quite independent and can be read separately. The Hunter's Moon was one of my favorites of last year, and The Summer King will definitely make the list for 2006. This one will have great teen appeal - besides those who liked the first in the series, this will also appeal to fans of Holly Black's Tithe and Valiant as well as fans of Charles' de Lint.

Melling, O. R. The Summer King. New York: Amulet Books, 2006.

What I'm Reading: The Silver Bough by Lisa Tuttle
On My Bookshelf: New Moon by Stephenie Meyer (okay, so it's not on the shelf yet, but it's in the mail - on it's way!)


Post a Comment

<< Home